Sunday, August 14, 2022
HomeIndiaEarthquake: Strong Earthquake in Sonitpur, Assam, 6.4 on Richter scale

Earthquake: Strong Earthquake in Sonitpur, Assam, 6.4 on Richter scale


Earthquake in Sonitpur, Assam: Strong earthquake tremors have been felt in Northeast India this morning. This earthquake has occurred in Assam, Meghalaya, North Bengal. The quake in Sonitpur in Assam has been measured at 6.4 on the Richter scale. The first tremor was felt at 7:51 am, followed by a five-time earthquake. At present, there is no news of any casualty.

Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal said, ‘There was a strong earthquake in Assam. I urge everyone to be cautious. I am taking updates from all the districts. At the same time, Assam Health Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma has shared some pictures of the damage caused by the earthquake.

Earthquake in Sonitpur, Assam


Why earthquake comes

The earth is mainly made up of four layers: inner core, outer core, mantle, and crust. The crust and upper mantle core are called lithospheres. This 50 km thick layer is divided into several sections, which are called tectonic plates. These tectonic plates keep moving in their place. When these plates move too much, an earthquake is felt. These plates can move both horizontally and vertically from their place. After this, she searches for her place while remaining stationary, during which one plate falls under the other plate.

The earthquake’s intensity is gauged by the waves of energy emanating from the centre (epicentre). These waves vibrate for hundreds of kilometres and fall to the cracks in the earth. If the earthquake’s depth is shallow, the energy exiting from it is very close to the surface, causing terrible destruction. But the earthquakes that come in the depths of the earth do not cause much damage to the surface. High and robust waves arise when there is an earthquake in the sea, called a tsunami.

How earthquake intensity is measured

The Richter scale is used to measure the intensity of an earthquake. This is called the Richter Magnitude Test Scale. Earthquakes are measured on a Richter scale from 1 to 9. Its epicentre measures an earthquake. The quake is divided into four different zones. According to the macroseismic zoning mapping, it includes zone-5 to zone-2. Zone 5 is considered to be st sensitive, and similarly area, two is regarded as sensitive.

Ashish Kumar Mishra
Ashish Kumar Mishra
Ashish Kumar Mishra is the Founder and CEO at Spot News 18. He created Spot News 18 on 30 June 2019. His intention to make these News Websites was only to provide correct and official news to his readers. Now, he is working on Spot News 18 to expand his website reach to all parts of the world.

Related News


This Player’s Career Was Ruined Because Of Dinesh Karthik, Yearning To Get A Place In The Team

Dinesh Karthik: Selectors have given a chance to many legendary players for the Asia Cup in the Indian team. Dinesh Karthik is also part...

Your Ration Card Will Be Canceled In These 4 Situations, Know What Are The Latest Rules

Ration Card Rules: In May, the news of ration card holders surrendering their cards in Uttar Pradesh became viral on social media. In this,...

China’s 2,300-Year-Old Mystery Busted, Metal-Making Formula Decoded

Chinese Metal Formula Decode: 2,300 years ago in China, unique technology was used to make metal; over time, this technology gradually fell into the...

Arbaaz Khan’s Girlfriend Came Out Of The Gym Sweaty… Took Off The Top And Tied It On The Waist And…

Giorgia Andriani has become the talk of the town with her latest pictures. Arbaaz Kan would also like to stop and watch the images...

Sridevi Was The Owner Of 3 Bungalows, 7 Vehicles, And So Many Crores

Sridevi Net Worth and Property: Late Bollywood actress Sridevi does not need any identity. Everyone is crazy about his style, dance and acting. Sridevi...