Saturday, May 21, 2022
HomeSportsIND vs NZ: Team India Lost A Hat-Trick, New Zealand Eliminated 3-0

IND vs NZ: Team India Lost A Hat-Trick, New Zealand Eliminated 3-0


After losing their third consecutive ODI against New Zealand, Team India posted a hat-trick of defeats. The Kiwis defeated Team India by 5 wickets in the third and final ODI match played at Mount Maunganui. New Zealand, in revenge for the 0–5 defeat in the T20 series, cleaned up India’s 3–0 sweep in the three-match ODI series. In this match, after losing the toss and batting first, Team India scored 296 runs losing 7 wickets in 50 overs and gave New Zealand a target of 297 runs to win.

KL Rahul played an innings of 112 runs for India, scoring the fourth century of his ODI career. In response, New Zealand achieved the target by losing 5 wickets in 47.1 overs. Henry Nicholls scored 80, Martin Guptill 66, Colin de Grandhom unbeaten 58 and Top Latham scored 32 runs for the hosts. For India, Yuzvendra Chahal took three and Shardul Thakur and Ravindra Jadeja took one wicket each.

The first ODI was won by New Zealand by 4 wickets. After this, in the second ODI too, the Kiwi team beat India to an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series. New Zealand also won the last match and made the whitewash of Team India. After 31 years, India has faced whitewash in the one-day series of three or more matches (when all the matches of the series were played).


When India Got Eliminated In ODI Series

0-5 Vs West Indies, 1983/84

0-5 vs West Indies, 1988/89

0-3 vs New Zealand, 2019/20


(South Africa were eliminated 0-4 in 2006/07, but one match of that ODI series was canceled).

India Gave 297 Target To New Zealand

Team India, who came out to bat first, scored 296 runs after losing 7 wickets in 50 overs and gave New Zealand a target of 297 runs to win. KL Rahul played an innings of 112 runs for India, scoring the fourth century of his ODI career. Shreyas Iyer scored 62 and Manish Pandey scored 42 runs. Apart from this, Prithvi Shaw contributed 40 runs.

Once again, the pair of Mayank Agarwal and Prithvi Shaw failed to give a good start to Team India. Mayank Agarwal dismissed in the second over. Mayank Agarwal bowled by Kyle Jamieson and gave India the first blow. Aggarwal dismissed by scoring 1 run. Captain Virat Kohli’s bat also did not work. Hamish Bennett caught Virat Kohli out by Kyle Jamieson and gave India another blow. Virat Kohli was out after scoring 9 runs.


Prithvi Shaw (40 runs, 42 balls, 2 sixes, 3 fours) was run out. Team India got the third blow on the score of 62. Shreyas Iyer was caught by James Neesham at the hands of Colin de Grandhom and gave India the fourth blow. Iyer was dismissed after scoring 62 runs.

KL Rahul Hit A Century

KL Rahul has given the fourth century of his ODI career. This is Rahul’s first ODI century at number 5. Rahul completed his century off 104 balls. KL Rahul dismissed for 112 off 112 balls. Rahul hit 9 fours and 2 sixes in his innings.

Batting at number five and below, Rahul has become the second Indian batsman to score an ODI century on New Zealand soil. Earlier, Suresh Raina also did this feat. Suresh Raina hit a century against Zimbabwe in the World Cup tournament played on New Zealand soil in the year 2015. Batting at number five, Suresh Raina scored an unbeaten 110 against Zimbabwe.


Manish Pandey was out for 42 off Hamish Bennett. Pandey caught by Mitchell Santner. Pandey hit 2 fours off 48 balls. Rahul and Pandey shared 107 runs for the 5th wicket. The wicket of Shardul Thakur (7) fell on the second ball of the 49th over, but after this Ravindra Jadeja (8 not out) and Navdeep Saini (8 not out) did not allow the team any more damage. In bowling, New Zealand star Hamish Bennett, who took four wickets for 64 runs, while Kyle Jamieson and James Neesham got one success each.

New Zealand Gave First Batting To India

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and decided to bowl and invited India to bat first. There has been a change in the playing eleven of the Indian team. Kedar Jadhav, who is in poor form, is out of the team. Manish Pandey has given a chance to replace Jadhav. There were two changes in the New Zealand team as well.

Captain Kane Williamson returned to the match after an injury. Williamson joined in place of Tom Blundell. Apart from this, Mitchell Sentner has got the chance to replace Mark Chapman.




Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Virat Kohli (captain), Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Manish Pandey, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Jaspreet Bumrah.

New Zealand

Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Latham (wicketkeeper), Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhom, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Hamish Bennett, Tim Southee, Kyle Jamieson.

Ashish Kumar Mishra
Ashish Kumar Mishra
Ashish Kumar Mishra is the Founder and CEO at Spot News 18. He created Spot News 18 on 30 June 2019. His intention to make these News Websites was only to provide correct and official news to his readers. Now, he is working on Spot News 18 to expand his website reach to all parts of the world.

Related News


Kangana Ranaut Will Soon Debut In Hollywood, Said Her Future Plan

Many such beauties of Bollywood have made their mark in B-town and Hollywood. It includes the names of actresses like Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Priyanka...

‘Stop Raping’ Woman Screams Topless On Cannes 2022 Red Carpet

A woman creates a stir on the red carpet of the Cannes Film Festival 2022. There was a stir when a woman came on...

Bhanwarlal Jain Beaten In Neemuch Goes Viral, Dead Body Found Later

Shameful news is coming from Neemuch in Madhya Pradesh. Here a video is viral on social media in which a man is seen beating...

MS Dhoni Will Not Retire From IPL, But Is There Still Cricket Left In Him?

MS Dhoni Will Not Retire From IPL: The magic of Chennai Super Kings, who won the IPL four times, could not work in the...

These Are The Reasons Behind White Spots On Your Tongue

The doctor first sees your tongue whenever you fall ill because the tongue's colour can detect many diseases. The function of the tongue is...