HomeTechnologyWhatsApp Message Claiming to Offer 3 Months Free Internet is Fake?

WhatsApp Message Claiming to Offer 3 Months Free Internet is Fake?

WhatsApp Message: There is no doubt about the fact that technology has made our lives very easy today. But, some people are cheating people by misusing this technology. You must be reading or hearing such news every day, in which hackers plan to vacate your account sitting online.

At the same time, it has become common thing to get fake scam messages on messaging apps. Similar fake news is becoming increasingly viral on WhatsApp these days. Given this viral message, the Press Information Bureau (PIB) has also warned the telecom users. Let us know further what is this whole matter.

As soon as we came to know about the tweet of the Press Information Bureau, we did some investigation and found that this type of message had gone viral a few months back also. This time this message is going viral on WhatsApp. It is being claimed in this fake message that the Government of India is offering free internet for three months for children’s online education.

Apart from this, it has been said that this offer is valid for customers of Airtel, Jio and Vi networks. The message also claims that the offer is limited to June 29, 2021, and urges users to hurry up and avail the opportunity.

The message is going viral

In the fake message, users have been asked to click on the link given in the message to claim the offer. Once you click on the link, you will be taken to a fake website with a picture of Narendra Modi, the Prime Minister of India. The website asks you to select your mobile network operator (Airtel, Jio or Vodafone Idea) to claim three months of free internet access. Once you have chosen your network operator, you are asked to enter your mobile number, state and select your internet plan.

You will see a banner of Mukesh Ambani on the website, and it will ask you to share this message to 10 people via WhatsApp to claim the offer. You will be taken to another page, and you will be asked to click on the “Confirm Registration” button. Once you click on the button, you are exposed to a download link (in our case, the Adblock Shield browser extension) for some kind of software. Thus you will not get free recharge.

Dangerous to click on the link

  • Links related to free recharge take users to unknown sites from where frauds can be carried out.
  • Apart from this, by clicking on these links, you are asked for your personal information.
  • The recharge, which is discussed on this type of site, is not available to any user for free but gets cheated online.
  • The recharge discussed on this type of site is not available to any user for free.
  • Instead of forwarding this type of message, it is necessary to delete it immediately.
Spot News 18 Team
Spot News 18 is The Voice of Growing Nation. Discover the Latest News and Updates Directly From Spot News 18.

Related Articles

Latest News